The Interdepartmental Research Institute was established on behalf of the President of the country and is called upon to coordinate the research activities of law enforcement agencies in order to develop a united law enforcement practice, as well as improving the effectiveness of work to strengthen law and order.

The Institute has 4 specialized centers, staffed by current practitioners of the prosecutor’s office, who have significant experience in various areas of prosecutorial supervision, as well as by academic lawyers.

The structure of the Institute:

1) Center for Organization and Coordination of Scientific Research, Normative Activity;

2) Center for Research on Problems of Criminal Policy and Punishments Execution

3) Center for the Study of Problems in the sphere of Public Interests Protection

4) Center for Research on Improving the Law Enforcement System

The Institute carries out the organization, coordination and conduct of fundamental and applied interdepartmental scientific research in the law enforcement sphere within the established powers and assigned functions, as well as monitoring of interdepartmental scientific research conducted by departmental scientific institutions and educational organizations of law enforcement bodies.

The main tasks of the Interdepartmental Research Institute are:

– formation of a unified scientific policy in the field of law enforcement agencies;

– organization, coordination and monitoring of interdepartmental scientific research on topical problems of law enforcement practice;

– carrying out of fundamental and applied interdepartmental scientific researches on actual problems of activity of law enforcement agencies of the Republic of Kazakhstan;

– participation in the scientific provision of law enforcement agencies, including the introduction of domestic and foreign best practices in the practice of their activities.

Employees of the Institute take an active part in the development of conceptual documents, as well as in the preparation of draft laws in the field of combating corruption, transnational organized crime, human trafficking and many other topical issues of law enforcement practice.

The methods of scientific cognition used in scientific research is constantly expanding and renewing. Scientific research is based on statistically reliable data of law enforcement practice and is aimed at its improvement and development.

The creative association of scientists and practitioners who have coordinated their efforts in the author’s collectives brings to the scientific research the most diverse elements of novelty, which will allow to create a holistic, not fragmentary idea about the phenomenon or process.

The results of the preparation of scientific research will be represented by the broadest spectrum: collective and individual monographs, textbooks (electronic and printed), teaching aids, methodological guides, methodological recommendations, methodological guidelines, analytical references and reports, etc.

The Institute conducts fundamental and applied research, organizes scientific and practical conferences and round tables on topical problems of law enforcement practice. Collections of methodical manuals and recommendations are published.

Межведомственный научно-исследовательский институт создан по поручению Президента страны и призван координировать научно-исследовательскую деятельность правоохранительных органов в целях формирования единой правоприменительной практики, а также повышения эффективности работы по укреплению законности и правопорядка.

В своем составе Институт имеет 4 специализированных центра, укомплектованных действующими практическими сотрудниками прокуратуры, имеющими значительный опыт работы на различных направлениях прокурорского надзора, а также учеными-юристами.

Структура Института:

1) Центр организации и координации научных исследований, нормотворческой деятельности;

2) Центр исследования проблем уголовной политики и исполнения наказания;

3) Центр по исследованию проблем в сфере защиты общественных интересов;

4) Центр исследования вопросов совершенствования правоохранительной системы.

Институт осуществляет в пределах установленных полномочий и возложенных функций организацию, координацию и проведение фундаментальных и прикладных межведомственных научных исследований в правоохранительной сфере, а также мониторинг научных исследований межведомственного характера, проводимых ведомственными научными учреждениями и организациями образования правоохранительных органов.

Основными задачами Межведомственного научно-исследовательского института являются:

— формирование единой научной политики в сфере деятельности правоохранительных органов;

— организация, координация и мониторинг межведомственных научных исследований по актуальным проблемам правоприменительной практики;

— проведение фундаментальных и прикладных межведомственных научных исследований по актуальным проблемам деятельности правоохранительных органов Республики Казахстан;

— участие в научном обеспечении деятельности правоохранительных органов, в том числе внедрение отечественного и зарубежного передового опыта в практику их деятельности.

Сотрудники Института принимают активное участие в разработке концептуальных документов, а также при подготовке законопроектов в области противодействия коррупции, транснациональной организованной преступности, торговле людьми и по многим другим актуальным вопросам правоприменительной практики.

Арсенал применяемых в научных исследованиях методов научного познания постоянно расширяется и обновляется. Научные исследования базируются на статистически достоверных данных правоприменительной практики и направлены на ее улучшение и совершенствование.

Творческое объединение ученых и практиков, скоординировавших свои усилия в авторских коллективах, привносит в научные исследования самые различные элементы новизны, которые позволят создать целостное, а не фрагментарное, представление об изучаемом явлении или процессе.

Результаты подготовки научных исследований будут представлены широчайшим спектром: коллективные и индивидуальные монографии, учебники (электронные и печатные), учебные пособия, методические пособия, методические рекомендации, методические указания, аналитические справки и сообщения и т.д.

В настоящее время Институтом проводятся фундаментальные и прикладные исследования, организовываются научно-практические конференции и круглые столы по актуальным проблемам правоприменительной практики. Издаются сборники методических пособий и рекомендаций.