The Institute of Postgraduate Education of the Law Enforcement Academy under the Prosecutor General’s Office of the Republic of Kazakhstan consists of:

1) Department of educational and methodical work;

2) Department of social and humanitarian disciplines;

3) Department of general legal disciplines;

4) Department of special legal disciplines.

Postgraduate education in magistracy and doctoral studies is implemented for law enforcement officers in the Academy.

Training in the magistracy is carried out on the basis of educational programs of higher education in two areas:

1) scientific and pedagogical with a study period of at least two years;

2) specialized with a study period of at least one year.

Master’s educational programs are aimed at staff training with the award of the degree “Master” in the specialty “Law Enforcement”, “Jurisprudence”.

Training in doctoral studies is carried out on the basis of educational programs of the magistracy in the scientific and pedagogical direction with a training period of at least three years in the specialty “Law Enforcement”, “Law”.

Doctoral educational programs are aimed at training personnel for scientific, pedagogical and (or) professional activities, with the award of the degree of Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in the specialty “Law Enforcement”, “Jurisprudence”.

50 (40 magistracy and 10 doctoral studies) law enforcement officers of the Republic of Kazakhstan enter the Academy for training every year.

To date, 79 master students and 30 doctoral students (law enforcement officers) are trained at the Academy; during the period of the Academy’s education, 66 master students and 12 doctoral students have been graduated in connection with the implementation of the professional training program.

Master students are awarded the degree of “Master of Law” or “Master of Legal science” and the corresponding state diplomas are issued upon graduation.

Classes in the master’s and doctoral studies are conducted by the faculty, the staff number of which is 27 units, including 2 doctors, 14 candidates of science, 2 doctors of PhD, as well as one state adviser of justice of the 3rd class.

In general, the postgraduate education is served by three departments of social, humanitarian, general legal and special legal disciplines, to which 49 disciplines are assigned.

The taught disciplines not only have a theoretical direction in accordance with the requirements of the Ministry of Education and Science (basic and major disciplines), but also practice-oriented in all areas of law enforcement.

During the classes, all teachers of the department apply innovative learning technologies. Lectures are conducted using presentations, videos. Seminars and practical classes are held in the form of business games, debates, discussions and solving case studies.

A courtroom training hall has been created, where business games are held in the form of litigation in basic and major disciplines. The courtroom training hall imitates the original courtroom.

An Educational and Methodological Association was created on the basis of the Academy in the specialty Law Enforcement in order to improve the educational activities of higher educational institutions by the decision of the Ministry of Education and Science.

In 2017, the Academy passed the certification of the Ministry of Education and Science, the results of which approached postgraduate education approaches that were recognized as conforming to state standards.

In January 2019, Academy activities and educational programs of postgraduate education were accredited for 5 years by independent independent Agency of quality assurance in education.

Институт послевузовского образования Академии правоохранительных органов при Генеральной прокуратуре Республики Казахстан состоит из:

1) Управления учебно-методической работы;

2) Кафедры социально-гуманитарных дисциплин;

3) Кафедры общеюридических дисциплин;

4) Кафедры специальных юридических дисциплин.

В Академии для сотрудников правоохранительных органов реализуется послевузовское образование в магистратуре и докторантуре.

Подготовка кадров в магистратуре осуществляется на базе образовательных программ высшего образования по двум направлениям:

1) научно-педагогическому со сроком обучения не менее двух лет;

2) профильному со сроком обучения не менее одного года.

Образовательные программы магистратуры направлены на подготовку кадров с присуждением степени «магистр» по специальности «Правоохранительная деятельность», «Юриспруденция».

Подготовка кадров в докторантуре осуществляется на базе образовательных программ магистратуры по научно-педагогическому направлению со сроком обучения не менее трех лет по специальности «Правоохранительная деятельность», «Юриспруденция».

Образовательные программы докторантуры направлены на подготовку кадров для научной, педагогической и (или) профессиональной деятельности, с присуждением степени доктора философии (PhD) по специальности «Правоохранительная деятельность», «Юриспруденция».

Ежегодно в Академию поступают на обучение 50 (40 магистратуру и 10 докторантуру) сотрудников правоохранительных органов Республики Казахстан.

На сегодняшний день в Академии обучаются 79 магистрантов и 30 докторантов (сотрудники правоохранительных органов), за период образования Академии в связи с выполнением профессиональной учебной программы магистратуры выпущены 66 обучающихся и 12 обучающихся по программе докторантура.

По окончании обучения магистрантам присваиваются степени «магистра права» или «магистра юридических наук» и выдаются соответствующие дипломы государственного образца.

Занятия в магистратуре и докторантуре проводятся профессорско-преподавательским составом, штатная численность которых составляет 27 единиц, из них 2 доктора, 14 кандидатов наук, 2 доктора PhD, а также один государственный советник юстиции 3-го класса.

В целом послевузовское образование обслуживают три кафедры социально-гуманитарных, общеюридических и специальных юридических дисциплин, за которыми закреплены 49 дисциплин.

Преподаваемые дисциплины не только имеют теоретическое направление в соответствии с требованиями Министерства образования и науки (базовых и профилирующих дисциплин), но и практико-ориентированы по всем направлениям деятельности правоохранительных органов.

При проведении занятий всеми преподавателями кафедры применяются инновационные технологии обучения. Лекционные занятия проводятся с использованием презентаций, видеоматериалов. Семинарские и практические занятия проводятся в форме деловых игр, дебатов, дискуссий и решения кейсовых задач.

Создан учебный зал судебных заседаний, в котором проводится деловые игры в виде судебного процесса по базовым и профилирующим дисциплинам. Учебный зал судебных заседаний имитирует оригинальный зал судебных заседаний.

В целях совершенствования образовательной деятельности высших учебных заведений, решением Министерства образования и науки на базе Академии создано Учебно-методическое объединение по специальности «Правоохранительная деятельность».

В 2017 году Академия прошла аттестацию Министерства образования и науки, по результатам которой подходы обучения по линии послевузовского образования были признаны соответствующими государственным стандартам.