Regional Hub

The project “Regional hub on Countering Global Threats” has been launched on the basis of the Academy since 2017. The project moved to the functional part of development, forming the Department of International Education in the field of countering global threats at the end of 2018.

The hub is positioned primarily as a research and training platform for the Central Asian states.

The Hub has trained more than 1,000 employees of the prosecutor’s office and other security agencies of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Afghanistan and Pakistan since its formation.

Active interaction has been established with leading foreign partners and international organizations (UN, OSCE, EU, US Embassy, CARICC, IRZ, etc.). Approval has been received from the UN, under the Memorandum of Understanding and Cooperation between the General Prosecutor’s Office of Kazakhstan and the UN signed on April 11, 2017 in Vienna.

Nowadays, the Regional Hub is developing in 6 topical areas: countering terrorism and extremism, drug crime, human trafficking, cybercrime, financial and corruption crimes, and environmental security threats since the end of last year.

Work is carried out to train national trainers in activity areas of the Hub in order to improve the professional level and skills.

Today, 10 trained financial investigation experts train law enforcement officers. The 3-stage training of 14 national experts (prosecutor’s office, National Bureau, SED, MIA) in the field of cybercrime investigation has been completed. Training of trainers on countering the financing of terrorism is ongoing.

Work to create networks for the experience and information exchange between experts of the Central Asian region in certain areas of the Hub is underway together with the UNODC,

As part of the innovative teaching methods introduction, the first international simulation training in the combating human trafficking field in Russian language was held in September of this year..

More than 100 people took part in the training, including 76 representatives from 19 countries of near and far abroad (Moldova, Romania, Georgia, Ukraine, Russia, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, USA, Israel, Lithuania, Italy, Armenia, Belarus , Germany, Greece, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan), representatives of the media and the public.

20 professional actors from the Kazakh National University of Arts played victims of trafficking and criminals for maximum likelihood. Participants in joint groups learned to identify trafficking victims, to investigate and interact with each other during the training process.

Another innovative training method is film trainings designed specifically to prevent the crimes commission.

The first film training was held at the beginning of last year which gathered under the roof of the Kazakh Drama Theater more than 120 teenagers, pupils from metropolitan schools, as well as their parents and employees of the juvenile police.

Film immersion was dedicated to countering the recruitment of young people into radical groups. The event was widely reported in the media and received a positive response.

The Academy was given the status of the basic organization of the CIS member states for advanced training and retraining of personnel for tax (financial ) investigations in order to consolidate efforts and improve professional skills of fiscal bodies, on our initiative, by the decision of the Council of Foreign Ministers of the CIS member states (dated 06.04.2018),.

As part of the implementation of the tasks of the basic organization, the first international seminar was held in November (from 12 to 16) – the training “Financial investigations and return of illegal assets”.

The training was attended by employees of the fiscal authorities of Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Kazakhstan, as well as prosecutors of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

In order to expand cooperation with various partners of the Academy within the framework of the “Regional Hub on Counteracting Global Threats”, as well as to increase the awareness of the Academy at the international level, two websites were developed:

1. Website of the Regional Hub – www.reghub.kz

2. Website “Network on the Prevention of Violent Extremism” – www.capve.org

A Network on the Prevention of Violent Extremism (PVE) has been created jointly with the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime for experts from Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. The purpose of this platform is the participation of the state and society, interaction between representatives of government structures, civil society, academia, international experts and UNODC in order to increase the region’s resilience to the threats of violent extremism and strengthen cooperation.

Currently, active networking is being done, as well as the recognition of the Academy among stakeholders in the field of environmental safety.

In general, the Regional Hub is gaining momentum and is becoming more efficient and recognizable in the Central Asian region.

Региональный хаб

С 2017 года на базе Академии запущен проект «Региональный Хаб по противодействию глобальным угрозам». В конце 2018 года проект перешел в функциональную часть развития, образовав Кафедру международного обучения в сфере противодействия глобальным угрозам.

Хаб позиционируем, прежде всего, как научно-исследовательская и обучающая платформа для государств Центральной Азии.

Со времени образования Хабом обучено более 1000 сотрудников прокуратуры и других силовых ведомств Казахстана, Кыргызстана, Таджикистана, Туркменистана, Узбекистана, Афганистана и Пакистана.

Налажено активное взаимодействие с ведущими зарубежными партнерами и международными организациями (ООН, ОБСЕ, ЕС, Посольство США, ЦАРИКЦ, IRZ и др.). Получено одобрение от ООН, в рамках подписанного 11 апреля 2017 года в Вене Меморандума о взаимопонимании и сотрудничестве между Генеральной прокуратурой Казахстана и ООН.

Сегодня Региональный Хаб развивается по 6 актуальным направлениям: противодействие терроризму и экстремизму, наркопреступлениям, торговле людьми, киберпреступности, финансовым и коррупционным преступлениям, а с конца прошлого года работа – угрозам экологической безопасности.

В целях повышения профессионального уровня и навыков проводится работа по обучению национальных тренеров по направлениям деятельности Хаба.

На сегодня 10 подготовленных экспертов по финансовым расследованиям обучают сотрудников правоохранительных органов. Завершена 3-х этапная подготовка 14 национальных экспертов (прокуратура, НацБюро, СЭР, МВД) в области расследования киберпреступлений. Продолжается обучение тренеров по противодействию финансированию терроризма.

Совместно с УНП ООН проводится работа по созданию сетей обмена опытом и информацией между экспертами Центрально-Азиатского региона по отдельным направлениям Хаба.

В рамках внедрения инновационных методов обучения, в сентябре т.г. проведен первый международный симуляционный тренинг в сфере противодействия торговле людьми на русском языке.

В тренинге принимали участие более 100 человек, в том числе 76 представителей из 19 стран ближнего и дальнего зарубежья (Молдова, Румыния, Грузия, Украина, РФ, Туркменистан, Таджикистан, Узбекистан, Кыргызстан, США, Израиль, Литва, Италия, Армения, Беларусь, ФРГ, Греция, Азербайджан, Казахстан), представители СМИ и общественности.

Для максимальной правдоподобности, жертв торговли и преступников играли 20 профессиональных актеров из Казахского национального университета искусств. В процессе обучения участники в совместных группах учились идентифицировать жертв торговли людьми, вести расследование и взаимодействовать друг с другом.

Другим инновационным методом обучения являются кинотренинги, разработанные специально для профилактики совершения преступлений.

В начале прошлого года был проведен первый кинотренинг, собравший под крышей Казахского драматического театра более 120 подростков, учащихся столичных школ, а также их родителей и сотрудников ювенальной полиции.

Кинопогружение посвящалось противодействию вербовки молодежи в радикально настроенные группировки. Мероприятие широко освещалось в средствах массовой информации и получило положительный отклик.

В целях консолидации усилий и совершенствования профессиональных навыков фискальных органов, по нашей инициативе решением Совета глав МИД государств — участников СНГ (от 06.04.2018 г.) Академии присвоен статус базовой организации государств — участников СНГ по повышению квалификации и переподготовке кадров для органов налоговых (финансовых) расследований.

В рамках реализации задач базовой организации в ноябре (с 12 по 16) проведен первый международный семинар – тренинг «Финансовые расследования и возврат незаконных активов».

В обучении приняли участие сотрудники фискальных органов Кыргызстана, Таджикистана и Казахстана, а также сотрудники прокуратуры Республики Казахстан.

В целях расширения взаимодействия с различными партнерами Академии в рамках «Регионального Хаба по противодействию глобальным угрозам», а также повышения узнаваемости Академии на международном уровне, были разработаны два веб-сайта:

1. Веб-сайт Регионального Хаба – www.reghub.kz

2. Сайт «Сеть по вопросам профилактики насильственного экстремизма» — www.capve.org

Совместно с Управлением ООН по наркотикам и преступности создана Сеть по вопросам профилактики насильственного экстремизма (ПНЭ) для экспертов из Казахстана, Кыргызстана, Таджикистана, Туркменистана, и Узбекистана. Целью данной платформы является участие государства и общества, взаимодействие между представителями правительственных структур, гражданского общества, академических кругов, международными экспертами и УНП ООН с целью повышения устойчивости региона к угрозам насильственного экстремизма и укрепления сотрудничества.

В настоящее время проводится активная работа по построению networking, а также узнаваемости Академии среди стейкхолеров в области экологической безопасности.

В целом, Региональный Хаб набирает все большие обороты и становится более результативным и узнаваемым в Центрально-Азиатском регионе.